If you are in a car accident and someone is injured or there is property damage, Virginia law requires that you immediately stop as close to the scene of the accident without impeding traffic and call the police. You must give the police your name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number. You must also give this same information to the other people involved in the accident. In the case of injury, you are required to provide reasonable assistance to the person or persons who were hurt.
If you are involved in a car accident and there is property damage or damage to an unattended vehicle, the requirements are different. Virginia law requires that you make a reasonable effort to find the owner of the property or damaged vehicle and provide your name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number. If you cannot find the owner, you are required to leave a visible note for the vehicle’s owner and must file a written police report within 24 hours. Under the Code of Virginia, the written report to police must also include the date, time and place of the accident as well as the driver’s description of the property damage.
Furthermore, it is important to know that any person convicted of failing to stop at the scene of any accident when a person is injured or killed or if the accident results in more than $1000 of property damage is guilty of a Class 5 felony in Virginia.
On the other hand, it is a Class 1 misdemeanor if the accident results in $1000 or less in property damage.
If you are charged with misdemeanor or felony Hit & Run in Hampton Roads, do not treat it the way you would a typical traffic infraction. Be sure to consult with and hire an experienced traffic attorney so that you can be prepared for court.