Effective July 1, it will be legal for adults 21 years and older to possess no more than one ounce of marijuana for personal use.
It will still be illegal to possess more than one ounce of marijuana.
A person possessing more than one ounce but less than one pound of marijuana will be subject to a $25 civil penalty.
Possession of more than one pound of marijuana will still be punishable as a felony.
It will be illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to consume, purchase, or possess marijuana, or attempt to consume, purchase or possess any amount of marijuana.
In July, it will be illegal for any individual or business to distribute or sell marijuana and/or to possess any amount of marijuana with the intent to distribute or sell it.
Finally, it is important to know that despite these changes in Virginia’s laws, it will be illegal to use marijuana while driving a motor vehicle, to use marijuana while being a passenger in a motor vehicle, to possess marijuana on school grounds, and to use marijuana while operating a school bus or commercial vehicle.
If you are charged with a marijuana or other drug-related crime, be sure to contact our office before heading to court without representation.
You can read more about Virginia’s new marijuana laws here.