LeCruise Law Blog

Are Animal Control Officers Real Police Officers? Can Animal Control Officers Arrest Me or Charge Me with Crimes?

While there is often confusion as to the powers local animal control officers possess, it is important to recognize that they are real law enforcement officers who enforce a variety of criminal offenses, many of which are jailable. Failure to comply with the legal orders of an animal control officer can lead to you being…

How Many DMV Demerit Points Will I Get for a Traffic Ticket? How Long Do These Points Stay on My Driving Record?

If you are convicted of a traffic offense, the court where you are convicted notifies the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and the DMV assigns demerit points to your driving record based on the seriousness of the driving offense. Here are some common examples of moving violations in Virginia and the demerit points associated…

What Should I Do If I am Stopped, Searched or Questioned by Police?

If you have a police encounter, you CAN protect your rights. What you say to police officers is always important as everything you say can be used against you in court. You never have to consent to a search of yourself, your personal property, your car or your house. If you consent to a search,…

Why Your Behavior in Front of the Magistrate Matters and Can Help Your Case in the Long Run

A magistrate is a sworn judicial officer who makes one of the most important decisions in a criminal case: whether there is probable cause to issue an arrest warrant against a person. In most cases, after a person has been served with a warrant, a magistrate will be the first judicial actor who can determine…

What Should I Do if I am in a Car Accident? What are the Punishments for Hit & Run in Virginia?

If you are in a car accident and someone is injured or there is property damage, Virginia law requires that you immediately stop as close to the scene of the accident without impeding traffic and call the police. You must give the police your name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number. You must…

New Criminal Justice Reforms in Virginia Go into Effect July 1, 2020

On April 10, 2020, Virginia Governor Ralph Northam announced that he signed six (6) criminal justice bills, which will go into effect on July 1, 2020. New Virginia criminal laws are: An increase of the felony larceny threshold from $500 to $1000 A repeal of the requirement that the driver’s license of a person convicted…

New Firearm Crimes in Virginia Go into Effect July 1, 2020

On April 10, 2020, Virginia Governor Ralph Northam announced that he signed five (5) new gun control laws, which will go into effect on July 1, 2020. New Virginia gun laws include: A requirement of background checks on all firearm sales, which includes specific criminal punishments for gun buyers and sellers The establishment of an…

Is it a Crime to Wear a Face Mask in Public to Protect Myself from the Corona Virus Pandemic?

Under the Code of Virginia, it is “unlawful for a person over the age of 16 years of age to, with the intent to conceal his identity, wear any mask, hood or other device whereby a substantial portion of the face is hidden or covered so as to conceal the identity of the wearer, to…

Can I be Pulled Over by Virginia Police for Hanging Items from my Rear View Mirror?

Under the Code of Virginia, it is illegal to hang anything from a rear view mirror in a vehicle while driving. In particular, “It shall be unlawful for any person (i) to drive a motor vehicle on a highway in the Commonwealth with an object or objects, other than a rear view mirror, sun visor,…

What is Disorderly Conduct and How is it Punished in Virginia?

Under the Code of Virginia, Disorderly Conduct is a class 1 misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to twelve (12) months in jail. A person is guilty of Disorderly Conduct if, with the intent to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk thereof, he: A. In any street, highway, public building,…